You Too Are A Rainbow – The 7 Chakras, Colours, Significance & Blockages

Each one of us has either read or heard the word chakra. While some of us were too unbothered to dig further, a few others got fixated to the extent that one of them decided to write an article about it, and the others are now reading that particular article as we speak. 

This article will explain the literal, physical, emotional and spiritual aspects of Chakras and help you understand how Chakras are present in each one of us and how knowing about them makes your life better. 

We all know the saying, “Curiosity Killed The Cat”, you never know; curiosity might eventually lead to the activation of your Chakras someday, fingers crossed!

Fun fact: Just like the seven colours of the rainbow, the 7 chakras in our body are symbolized by the colours of the rainbow in the reverse order. So if you ever feel down, always think of yourself as a ROYGBIV – An Upside-down rainbow!

What Exactly Does The Word Chakra Mean? 

Chakra isn’t a fancy 21st-century term like “Covfefe”, or “Netizen”, the origin of the word Chakra goes way back to 1500 to 1000 BC, where it was first mentioned in the ancient sacred texts of the Vedas. 

Although various movies and Japanese anime series adapt the word “Chakra” to define the intrinsic power that all humans possess, they still fall short of explaining the profound meaning and importance Chakras have in our life. 

It won’t be a surprise if you have heard someone mention that their particular chakra is blocked, how it affects them, and how they are working on removing the blockage. 

The History Of Chakras

The word “Chakra” is of Sanskrit origin, meaning “wheel”, and it refers to the various energy centers of your body. They are called energy “centers”, rightfully so, since they are located at the center of our physical bodies along the spine. 

Chakras are believed to be discs of energy that should keep spinning in alignment for our complete physical and emotional well-being. Since the chakras are points where our major nerves meet, they influence the functioning of our major organs, and hence, the chakra should always stay open for long and fulfilling life. 

Various ancient texts believe that there are up to 114 chakras, but the seven major ones are the ones that run along your spine. 

Each of these chakras has a unique number, name, colour, and point across the spinal cord where it is located.

Blocked Root Chakra

When the root chakra, also known as the Red Chakra, is blocked, it can manifest with issues like colon problems, arthritis, or bladder problems. It can also result in emotional imbalances like feeling insecure about finances, basic needs and general well-being. 

Blocked Sacral Chakra

Lower back pain, urinary tract infections and impotence are some of the issues that arise due to the blockage of the Sacral Chakra. Emotionally, this orange chakra is associated with our feelings of self-worth, especially our self-worth related to creativity, sexuality and pleasure. 

Blocked Solar Plexus Chakra

Heartburn, indigestion, ulcers and eating disorders are signs of a blockage in the Solar Plexus Chakra. This chakra is often known as the chakra of personal power, which makes it a major influence on our self-confidence and self-esteem. And if you thought this was the Yellow Chakra, you are right. And if you couldn’t think of it, focus! Lol. 

Blocked Heart Chakra

Blocks of the heart chakra manifest in our physical body through weight issues, problems of the heart, and asthma. Our heart might be red, but the colour green symbolizes the heart chakra.

Chakra blockages can also be spotted through the behaviour of a person. For example, a person with a blocked heart chakra prioritizes the desires of others over theirs.

The heart chakra, being at the centre of the seven chakras, is the most crucial one. It bridges the gap between the upper and lower chakras and governs our ability to connect and love others. 

An unaligned heart chakra will often leave you feeling insecure, lonely, and isolated. 

Blocked Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra affects our ability to verbal communication. Problems with the throat, voice and other problems with the teeth, mouth, and gums surely indicate a throat chakra blockage. Furthermore, gossiping, dominating conversations, having trouble speaking one’s mind, and speaking without thinking strongly suggest the blockage of the throat chakra, which is also known as the blue chakra

The opening and aligning of the throat chakra results in compassionate listening and confident speaking since you know that you are truthful towards yourself with your words. 

The Third Eye Chakra

As this chakra is located on the forehead, the blockages in the Third Eye Chakra can show up in the form of issues with concentration and eyesight, headaches and hearing problems. People who find it hard to look at things objectively for what they are, and the ones who believe they “know it all” are the ones who have a misaligned third eye chakra. Such individuals are often disconnected from their intuition. On the other hand, people with an open red chakra can often see the bigger picture along with the subtleties they are made up of as a consequence of their heightened intuition. 

The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the topmost chakra in the physical and spiritual sense; it is violet in colour. It is linked to all of the remaining six chakras, and hence, with every organ in the system. This chakra is touted as the “Chakra Of Enlightenment” and significantly influences our life purpose and spirituality. 

Stubborn, narrow-minded and skeptical are the telling characteristics of a person with a blocked Crown Chakra. However, when open, this chakra holds open all the other chakras to bring bliss through enlightenment.

Out of all these chakras, their qualities, and the symptoms of their blockages, we are sure some resonated with you. We are sure that you might have noticed these qualities or blockages in yourself or the people around you at times in life. 

If you believe that a certain chakra block prevents you from unlocking your true potential and happiness, we advise you to delve further into chakra balance and realignment. 

Your Chakra balancing and alignment journey can start with Yoga, Chakra cleansing, Meditation, specific bodywork or even something as simple as music. 

Tread on all of these paths to find which one is meant for you and take a leap of faith.